EARLY CHILDHOOD CABINET WELCOMES WORKGROUP CO-CHAIRS!

The Connecticut Early Childhood Education Cabinet is proud to announce Dr. Dina Anselmi, Dr. Sheryl Horowitz, Dr. Alice Pritchard, and Ms. Trish Moylan Torruella as co-chairs for the Cabinet priority area workgroups.

Dina Anselmi, Ph.D., will co-chair the *Early Learning Standards* workgroup, along with Harriet Feldlaufer, Chief of the Bureau of Teaching and Learning at the CT State Department of Education. Dr. Anselmi is a developmental psychologist at Trinity College whose teaching and research interests include gender development, family factors in development, modifiability of abilities in different educational situations, and children's rights. She is currently the Co-director of Trinity's Center for Teaching & Learning. She was one of the founders of the Trinity College Child Care Center and continues to serve on its Board. She is also a board member of the Connecticut Housing Investment Fund. Dr. Anselmi received her Ph.D. from the University of New Hampshire.

Sheryl Horowitz, Ph.D., will co-chair the *Quality Data Systems* workgroup in partnership with Linda Goodman, Director of the CT Birth to Three System at the CT State Department of Developmental Services. Dr. Horowitz is the Director of Community Research and Evaluation at the Connecticut Association for Human Services (CAHS). Her responsibilities include developing and implementing a data-driven agenda to assess the progress and success of the family of programs administered and operated by CAHS. Sheryl has worked in the fields of institutional research, healthcare, and human services, performing the roles of data analyst and research director. She has designed federally and locally funded research and conducted evaluation aimed at improving the health, welfare, and quality of life of low income and minority populations. Sheryl received her PhD in Biological Anthropology from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. She has also completed post-doctoral work at UC Berkeley in Demography and at Stanford University in Population Ecology and Historical Fertility.

Alice Pritchard, Ph.D., will co-chair the *Professional Development/Work Force* workgroup along with Joan Parris, Director of Early Childhood Education from Norwalk Community College. Dr. Pritchard is the Executive Director of the Connecticut Women's Education and Legal Fund (CWEALF). CWEALF is a statewide non-profit organization dedicated to empowering women, girls and their families to achieve equal opportunities in their personal and professional lives. Dr. Pritchard has spent the last twenty years advocating on issues related to workforce development through research, training and technical assistance. Currently she manages the CT Career Ladder and Health and Education Initiatives which provides grants to support model programming in technology, healthcare and early care and education. Dr. Pritchard received her Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut.

Trish Moylan Torruella, M.P.H., will co-chair the Family Involvement/Home Visitation workgroup in partnership with Elaine Zimmerman, Executive Director of the CT Commission on Children. Ms. Moylan Torruella is Facilitator of the Hartford Office for Young Children's Family Civics Initiative. With over 30 years of experience she brings a results-based and systems approach to building the capacity of community partnerships, nonprofit organizations and foundations. She has served as a consultant to the William Casper Graustein Memorial Fund's Discovery Initiative and was instrumental in developing The Landscape of Formal Parenting Education Resources in Hartford. In her current position she leads the Family Civics Initiative, which is collaboration between the Commission on Children and the OFYC designed to more closely align state and city resources to improve the health of young children and their families. Born and raised in Puerto Rico, Ms. Moylan Torruella is bilingual and bicultural. She is a graduate of Mount Holyoke College, and has a Master's Degree in Public Health from CUNY's Hunter College.

John Rathgeber, Chair of the Cabinet and President and CEO of the Connecticut Business and Industry Association, states, "The Cabinet is very pleased that Dr. Anselmi, Dr. Horowitz, Dr. Pritchard and Ms. Moylan Torruella have joined us as workgroup co-chairs. Their knowledge and experience will help the Cabinet move forward with its priorities, and I very much look forward to working with them."

For additional information about the Early Childhood Education Cabinet please visit our website, http://ctearlychildhood.org/.